Singapore Declaration on the ASEAN Charter

WE, the Heads of State/Government of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, Member Countries of ASEAN, on the occasion of the 40th Anniversary of ASEAN and the 13th ASEAN Summit in Singapore;

REAFFIRMING our conviction, as expressed in the Kuala Lumpur Declaration on the Establishment of the ASEAN Charter on 12 December 2005 and the Cebu Declaration on the Blueprint of the ASEAN Charter on 13 January 2007, that the Charter shall serve as a legal and institutional framework, as well as an inspiration for ASEAN in the years ahead;

REITERATING our full resolve and commitment to narrow the development gap and to advance ASEAN integration through the creation of an ASEAN Community in furtherance of peace, progress and prosperity of its peoples; and

HAVING SIGNED the ASEAN Charter;

DO HEREBY DECLARE:

To faithfully respect the rights and fulfil the obligations outlined in the provisions of the ASEAN Charter:

To complete ratification by all Member Countries as soon as possible in order to bring the ASEAN Charter into force; and

To undertake all appropriate measures in each Member Country to implement the ASEAN Charter.

ADOPTED in Singapore, this Twentieth Day of November in the Year Two Thousand and Seven.